Random Writings and Photos

Random thoughts and/or photos

Music to Sooth and Inspire

Posted by Ó Maolchathaigh on August 2, 2021

Chatter Sunday is back! Yesterday was the 4th Sunday that Chatter has returned live. The first Sunday it was back was without the customary espresso barristas, and baked goods, so I hadn’t gone. I attended the July 18 performance, which included coffee, and no mask requirement. This regular chamber music series is held in an antique door store fifty Sundays a year. However, Chatter will be moving to a new location quite soon. Masks were required today.

2014 Honda Shadow Phantom

When I left to go home on my Phantom, I was happy, relaxed, and felt joy to be alive. The weather was a bit cooler than it had been, due to a pending storm. I had been hit by a smattering of raindrops on my way to the concert, and worried that I’d be drenched on my way home, but it didn’t rain anymore until evening. The wind caressed my face and added to my joy.

The concert began with Rising, by contemporary composer Kenji Bunch, a 48-year-old composer and violinist living in Portland, OR. Bunch currently serves as the Artistic Director of Fear No Music and teaches at Portland State University, Reed College, and for the Portland Youth Philharmonic. Allie Norris played violin for this world premiere of Rising.

Kenji Bunch
Allie Norris

She explained that she had to alter the standard string tunings on her violin in order to play it as written. She was accompanied by her partner, who added foot stomping and tamborine. It was interesting, and more than that, furious fun to listen to. Norris adds a lot of passion to her playing.

TOM SCHUCH

This was followed by a peformance by Tom Schuch, who portays Albert Einstein in comedic stage performances. His original piece – Einsteins’s Violin — a Play in Three Movements, was hilarious. He captures Einstein’s voice and patois. He uses his perfrmances to speak about Einstein’s work and the importance of STEM education, and also STEAM education, which has the added A to represent the arts.

Johann Chrysostom Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

After the customary 2 minutes of silence celebration, we were treated to a 1787 viola quintet in G minor. K. 516, written by Mozart. Of note was the spirited playing of Elizabeth Young (NOT the English Queen) thoroughly enjoying herself on violin, along with David Felberg on violin, who programs, plans, conducts, and plays some 60 concerts a year for Ensemble Music New Mexico, the parent of Chatter. Allie Norris and Erin Rolan also joined in playing this piece on violas. James Holland added cello. The beginning of the Allegro mesmerized me. I don’t think I have ever heard anything played like that. It seemed to resonate within my brain. It caught my strict attention immediately, as though I’d been kickstarted. The entire piece, including the Menuetto and Trio. Allegretto, the Adagio ma non troppo and the Adagio – Allegro was captivating. Concerned about the pending storm, I left immediately after the standing ovation we gave the players, but as I mentioned in the second paragraph, it didn’t rain, the sky was cloudy but calm, and the ride was refreshing after all the hot weather we’d had lately.

I don’t know what it is about Mozart, but his music touched me somehow that day.

David Felberg

ELIZABETH YOUNG

You are most welcome to leave a reply.