Random Writings and Photos

Random thoughts and/or photos

Photography from Arroyo del Tajo, New Mexico

Posted by Ó Maolchathaigh on April 7, 2022

These are from a slot canyon in a ravine called Arroyo del Tajo, just southeast of Socorro, New Mexico, along the Rio Grande. The first five are my favorites., but more follow. Click on each to enlarge.

More photos:

An interesting thing happened on this hike. I met a fascinating woman. She is quite beautiful and close to my own age at 61. Her American Indian heritage graced her with dark hair that she has not had to dye at all. She is very intelligent and we shared our life stories on the hike. She is a retired teacher from Texas but has been teaching in New Mexico. She will be leaving later this year to teach in a remote area of Alaska. She said she would send me stories from there. We appear to have much in common. She asked me to send her the photos I took, so I gave her my card with my contact information. She also took some photos I’d like to see. She was going to contact me with her information. I know some women don’t like to give that away to strangers they’ve just met, so that seemed best. I waited for days to post any photos to the meetup hiking site but never heard from her again. When I was doing that, I noticed that she had removed herself from the hiking group. I thought: “What did I say or do?” It was so disappointing. I so much wanted to stay in touch with her at the very least, and I believed we had connected. I looked forward to perhaps seeing her again. I felt so happy to have met someone like her. I have not dated in years because no one I’ve met interested me enough. This woman, yes, she interested me enough to make changes to my life. That’s incredible to me. Anyway, here are a few photos, aside from the ones above, that I won’t be able to send her. Sigh. But these ones of her were really for me.

One Response to “Photography from Arroyo del Tajo, New Mexico”

  1. This is a beautiful albeit somewhat bittersweet post. The images are stunning. I remember a few instances where I met people who I deeply connected with (or at least thought I did) who disappeared from my life as quickly as they entered it.

You are most welcome to leave a reply.